The Department

DET is one among the largest Department in Politecnico di Torino, accounting for roughly 100 permanent faculty members, 50 administrative and technical staff members and 180 post docs and PhDs.

DET promotes, coordinates and manages fundamental and applied research, training and teaching activities, consultant activities, technology transfer and provides services to the local community in the fields of electronics and telecommunications in the ICT (Information and Communication Technologies) area.


DET includes nine IEEE fellows and three highly cited scientists. A summary of  the main DET achievements, awards and prizes in research is available here. Publications are available here, a list of the main research contracts is available here.

The Department is structured in six research groups composed by researchers with common interests: Applied Electromagnetics, Bio engineering, Circuit and fields, Electronics, Instrumentation and measurements, Telecommunications.

Research is supported by experimental laboratories, computing facilities and by the "Mario Boella" Library, managed in cooperation with the Department of Computer Science and Control Engineering Division.


DET faculty members teach classes in the ICT fields in several bachelor, master and Ph.D. degrees The Department is the main reference for bachelor and master level courses in electronic engineering, telecommunications engineering, nanotechnologies and computer and communication networks offered by Politecnico di Torino. The ETF "collegio" coordinates and manages the teaching activities at the bachelor and Master level, whereas the doctorate school coordinates classes offered to Ph.D. students. 


Besides research and teaching activities, DET

  • encourages the participation to national and international research programs, technology transfer to public and private companies, and cooperation with the local social and economic context;
  • fosters excellence in research, and favours the dissemination of scientific results on authoritative media, and the active participation to international symposia and conferences;
  • promotes the development and the use of the innovative multimedia and Internet based technologies;
  • fosters the international mobility of researchers and students